You are currently viewing Maryam Fatima Emerges Bihar Women’s Chess Champ

Maryam Fatima Emerges Bihar Women’s Chess Champ

Patna, May 12: The Bihar State Women’s Chess Championship, which took place at the Bihar School of Chess in the Patliputra Sports Complex since May 10 under the auspices of the All Bihar Chess Association, came to a close today. Maryam Fatima emerged victorious in this seven-round contest, securing the title with 6.5 points. In the final round, Maryam clinched the championship by defeating Minky Sinha from Patna on the top board.

Meanwhile, on the second board, the match between Pari Sinha and Neha Singh ended in a draw, resulting in Pari being declared the runner-up. Pari Sinha, hailing from the sub-junior age group, showcased an impressive unbeaten streak throughout the competition, earning her a spot in the Bihar women’s squad. Last year’s champion, Neha Singh, settled for third place this time, while Adeeba Ullah, who finished third in the previous edition, secured fourth place, also earning a place in the team.

After the conclusion of the final round, M Ramachandradu, Director of Census and Statistics, graced the occasion as the chief guest, presenting the victorious players with cash prizes, trophies, and certificates. Dharmendra Kumar, Secretary of the All Bihar Chess Association, was also present and presented the PN Sharma Memorial Running Trophy, an annual award bestowed upon the state chess champion.

During the ceremony, Ajit Kumar Singh extended his gratitude to the chief guest with a souvenir and a chess board. Nand Kishore, Joint Secretary of the All Bihar Chess Association and chief arbiter of the tournament, presided over the event, while Rajendra Kumar, Senior Vice President of the association, delivered the vote of thanks.

Various dignitaries, including Priyanka Kumari, Bipin Kumar, and Rajesh Kumar, along with Iqbal Alam and tournament coordinator Ved Prakash, were also in attendance.

Top 10 finishers:

1. Maryam Fatima – Muzaffarpur – 6.5 points
2.Pari Sinha – Gaya – 5.5 points
3.Neha Singh – Patna – 5.5 points
4.Adeeba Ullah – Patna – 5.5 points
5. Minky Sinha – Patna – 5 points
6. Aadya Shree – Muzaffarpur – 5 points
7.Arpita Singh – Bhojpur – 5 points
8.Kritika Ranjan – Patna – 5 points
9. Ankita Raj – Patna – 5 points
10. Kiruba Vatsa – Patna – 5 points


Leave a Reply