You are currently viewing Bihar Assembly Committees Reconstituted: BJP Secures Chairmanship in 7 Panels

Bihar Assembly Committees Reconstituted: BJP Secures Chairmanship in 7 Panels

By Neeraj Kumar

Patna: The Bihar Assembly has undergone a significant reorganization with all 25 committees being reconstituted by Assembly Speaker Nand Kishore Yadav. The new composition reflects the strength of the political parties in the Assembly, with the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) securing the chairmanship of seven committees, making it the party with the most chair positions.

The Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) has been allocated six chairmanships, while the Janata Dal United (JDU) has secured five. The Indian National Congress has been given two chairmanships, and the Communist Party of India Marxist-Leninist (CPIML) and the Communist Party of India (CPI) have each been given one chairmanship. These changes will take effect from July 1.

Notably, Narendra Narayan Yadav, now the Deputy Speaker of the Assembly, has not been appointed as chairman of any committee. Former Assembly Speaker Awadh Bihari Chaudhary has also been excluded from the chairmanship list this time around. Seven committees will see the return of their previous chairmen, while new appointments have been made in four committees due to the appointment of former chairmen as ministers in the Nitish government or their election as Members of Parliament (MPs). Specifically, Renu Devi and Nitish Mishra have been appointed as ministers, while Jitan Ram Manjhi and Sudama Prasad have transitioned to MPs.

Committee Chairmen:

  • Rules, Special Rights and General Purposes: Nandkishore Yadav
  • Public Accounts Committee: Bhai Virendra
  • Estimates Committee: Tarkishore Prasad
  • Library Committee: Ram Vriksha Sada
  • Housing Committee: Ashok Chaudhary
  • Petition Committee: Ashok Singh
  • Delegated Legislation Committee: Ajit Sharma
  • State Assurances: Damodar Rawat
  • Questions and Attention Committee: Amarendra Pandey
  • District Council and Panchayat Raj Committee: Niranjan Mehta
  • Scheduled Caste and Tribe Welfare: Dr. Rampreet Paswan
  • Petition Committee: Awadhesh Singh
  • Women and Development Committee: Gayatri Devi
  • Ethics Committee: Ramnarayan Mandal
  • Non-Government Bill and Resolution Committee: Tej Pratap Yadav
  • Environment Protection and Pollution Control: Dr. Sunil Kumar
  • Internal Resources and Central Assistance: Mohammad Nehaluddin
  • Minority Welfare: Shakeel Ahmed Khan
  • Agriculture Industry Development: Suryakant Paswan
  • Tourism Industry Committee: Satyadev Ram
  • Zero Hour Committee: Bharat Bhushan Mandal
  • Bihar Heritage Development Committee: Kedar Nath Singh

This reconstitution aims to streamline the functioning of the Assembly and ensure representation in line with the current political dynamics.


Leave a Reply