You are currently viewing Sumit Kumar’s Unbeaten 68 Leads Jamui to a Thrilling 6-Wicket Win Over Bhagalpur
Jamui U-16 cricket team

Sumit Kumar’s Unbeaten 68 Leads Jamui to a Thrilling 6-Wicket Win Over Bhagalpur

Jamui, June 2: Jamui triumphed over Bhagalpur by 6 wickets in the Angika Zone match of the Shyamal Sinha Inter District Under-16 Cricket Tournament at the Sri Krishna Cricket Stadium on Sunday. Sumit Kumar, who remained unbeaten on 68, was named Player of the Match. Ashish Gupta (59 runs) and Ravi Kishan (4 wickets) also played crucial roles in Jamui’s victory.

Bhagalpur won the toss and chose to bat first. Jamui’s bowlers prevented Bhagalpur from building any substantial partnerships, and the team was all out for 177 runs in 36.5 overs. Notable contributions for Bhagalpur included Mohit Raj Singh (32 runs off 39 balls with 7 fours), Mohammad Shoaib (28 runs off 16 balls with 6 fours), Aditya Kishan (30 runs), Shiv Aarav Awasthi (unbeaten 29 runs off 41 balls with 3 fours), and Aarav Raj (21 runs off 13 balls with 3 fours and 1 six). Extras contributed 24 runs.

For Jamui, Ravi Kishan took 4 wickets, while Vikas Kumar and Sumit Kumar took 2 wickets each. Ayush Raj and Shivam Kumar each took one wicket.

In their chase, Jamui overcame a shaky start to reach 178 runs for the loss of 4 wickets in 25 overs, thanks to half-centuries from Sumit Kumar and Ashish Gupta. Dipanshu scored 16 runs off 23 balls with 3 fours, Sumit Kumar scored an unbeaten 68 runs off 61 balls with 8 fours and 3 sixes, and Ashish Gupta scored 59 runs off 36 balls with 10 fours and 2 sixes. Extras added 21 runs.

For Bhagalpur, Aarav Raj took 2 wickets, while Aditya and Mohammad Shoaib took 1 wicket each.

Former Secretary of the Bhagalpur District Cricket Association, Anand Mishra, presented the Player of the Match award to Sumit Kumar of Jamui.

Brief Scores:

Bhagalpur: All out for 177 runs in 36.5 overs (Mohit Raj Singh 32, Mohammad Shoaib 28, Arnav Aarav 12, Aditya Kishan 14, Shiv Aarav Awasthi not out 29, Aarav Raj 21, extras 24; Ayush Raj 1/29, Shivam Kumar 1/34, Vikas Kumar 2/32, Ravi Kishan 4/21, Sumit Kumar 2/16).

Jamui: 178 runs for 4 wickets in 25 overs (Deepanshu 16, Sumit Kumar not out 68, Ashish Gupta 59, extras 21; Aarav Raj 2/25, Aditya 1/31, Mohammad Shoaib 1/20).

Leave a Reply