You are currently viewing Ryan Mohammad Becomes Youngest Winner of Bihar State Senior Chess Championship

Ryan Mohammad Becomes Youngest Winner of Bihar State Senior Chess Championship

Lakhisarai, June 28: In the final round of the Bihar State Senior Chess Championship, organized by the Lakhisarai District Chess Association under the aegis of the All Bihar Chess Association, Ryan Mohammad emerged victorious. The event took place at Nagar Bhawan in Lakhisarai. Ryan Mohammad defeated Tabshir Alam to secure the championship title with a perfect score, achieving nine out of nine points, and making him the youngest player to win this championship. Previously, this record was held by Pratik Sengupta in undivided Bihar, who won the championship at the age of thirteen.

Seeded third in the championship, Ryan Mohammad won by a margin of two points over his closest competitor. Notably, Ryan has previously been crowned the Asian School Chess Champion and also won the Under-13 age group title at the National School Championship held in Patna earlier this year.

Vijay Kumar of the Bihar Postal Department was declared the runner-up with seven points, based on superior Buchholz points. He achieved this by defeating Rahul of Patna. On board number two, Maryam Fatima was defeated by Divyansh Kumar Singh of Kishanganj, while on board number three, Kishan Kumar of Begusarai defeated Himanshu Harsh of Patna. Both Kishan and Divyansh also scored seven points, with their positions determined by Buchholz points, placing Kishan third and Divyansh fourth. Maryam Fatima, with six and a half points, secured fifth place.

Top 10 Finishers:

  1. Ryan Mohammad, Patna – 9 points
  2. Vijay Kumar, Patna – 7 points
  3. Kishan Kumar, Begusarai – 7 points
  4. Divyansh Kumar Singh, Kishanganj – 7 points
  5. Maryam Fatima, Muzaffarpur – 6.5 points
  6. Piyush Kumar, Patna – 6.5 points
  7. Md. Tabashir Alam, Patna – 6.5 points
  8. Prashant Kumar Singh, Khagaria – 6.5 points
  9. Rupesh B Ramchandra, Patna – 6.5 points
  10. Pratyush Kumar, Patna – 6.5 points

The prize distribution ceremony was held after the final round, with Arvind Paswan, Chairman of the Municipal Council of Lakhisarai, as the chief guest. Special guests included Dr. Kiran Kumari and Luv Anand, coordinator of the Jan Suraj Abhiyan. The winners were awarded trophies, cash prizes, and certificates. Many dignitaries, including Lakhisarai District Chess Association President Prakash Mahato, Secretary Sanjay Jaiswal, Organizing Secretary Shivpriya Bhardwaj, Chief Judge Nandkishore, and Deputy Chief Judge Manish Kumar, were present at the event, along with the participants and their parents.


Leave a Reply