You are currently viewing Nehal Kumar’s Six-Wicket Haul Leads Munger to Victory Over Lakhisarai

Nehal Kumar’s Six-Wicket Haul Leads Munger to Victory Over Lakhisarai

Jamui, June 1: In the first match of the Angika Zone in the Shyamal Sinha Inter District Under-16 Cricket Tournament 2023-24, held at the Shri Krishna Singh Memorial Stadium, Munger defeated Lakhisarai by five wickets. The standout performance came from Nehal Kumar, who took six wickets, while Aadarsh Ankit Singh scored an unbeaten 50 runs for Munger.

Match Highlights:

  • Bowling Masterclass: Nehal Kumar of Munger dismantled Lakhisarai’s batting lineup, taking 6 wickets.
  • Batting Contributions: Aadarsh Ankit Singh played a crucial unbeaten innings of 50 runs to secure the win for Munger.

Match Details:

Munger won the toss and chose to field. Lakhisarai’s batsmen struggled against Nehal Kumar’s exceptional bowling, getting all out for 121 runs in 28.5 overs. The highest score for Lakhisarai came from extras, totaling 33 runs. Among the batsmen, Shubham Kumar scored 20, Karan Yadav 16, Sajan Kumar 13, and Bhaskar Anand 10 runs.

  • Other Bowling Performances: Besides Nehal Kumar’s 6/36, Munger’s bowlers Ramnath Jha (2/21), Shwetaabh Thakur (1 wicket), and Abhinav Kumar (1/23) also contributed.

In their chase, Munger reached the target by scoring 122 runs for the loss of 5 wickets in 19.4 overs. Aadarsh Ankit Singh led the batting with an unbeaten 50 runs off 31 balls, including 8 fours and 2 sixes. Other contributors were Yogendra Singh with 16 runs, Divyanshu Kumar with 19, and Aditya Singh with 14 runs.

  • Lakhisarai’s Bowling Efforts: Karan Yadav took 3 wickets for 34 runs, and Prahlad Kumar claimed 1 wicket for 14 runs.

Man of the Match: Nehal Kumar of Munger was awarded the Man of the Match by Gaurishankar Pal for his outstanding bowling performance.

Brief Scores:

  • Lakhisarai: All out for 121 runs in 28.5 overs (Shubham Kumar 20, Karan Yadav 16, Sajan Kumar 13, Bhaskar Anand 10; Nehal Kumar 6/36, Ramnath Jha 2/21, Abhinav Kumar 1/23).
  • Munger: 122/5 in 19.4 overs (Aadarsh Ankit Singh 50*, Yogendra Singh 16, Divyanshu Kumar 19, Aditya Singh 14; Karan Yadav 3/34, Prahlad Kumar 1/14).

Munger started their campaign with a convincing win, setting a strong tone for the tournament.


Leave a Reply