You are currently viewing EOU Takes Charge of NEET-UG 2024 Paper Leak Investigation

EOU Takes Charge of NEET-UG 2024 Paper Leak Investigation

By Neeraj Kumar

PATNA: The Economic Offences Unit (EOU) of Bihar Police has initiated an investigation into the alleged paper leak of NEET-UG 2024, conducted on May 5.

An eight-member EOU team, led by an SP-rank officer, has been assembled for this purpose. Several accused have already been apprehended, including individuals from Patna and various districts of Bihar. Those detained comprise four examinees, their guardians, and members of the solver gang. Notably, several medical students are among the arrested individuals. The alleged mastermind behind the paper leak, Nitish Kumar, is currently in police custody. Kumar had previously been incarcerated by the EOU in connection with a teacher recruitment question paper leak case, from which he was released on bail recently.


Initial investigations have identified Nitish Kumar and Sikandar Yadavendu, a junior engineer in Danapur Nagar Parishad, as the masterminds of the paper leak. It has been revealed that 35 examinees were made to solve the question paper prior to the examination at a boys’ hostel in the Ramkrishna Nagar police station area of Patna. The police discovered burnt remnants of the question paper at the location, along with several admit cards and other documents belonging to the gang members.

The EOU intends to seek remand for all detained individuals to facilitate comprehensive investigations, with court applications already underway.


There are suspicions of involvement of senior officials in this paper leak racket. Yadavendu and one of the main kingpins, Sanjeev Singh, were in contact with multiple officials and communicated via internet calling. It is believed that these officials were aware of the question paper leak case. The EOU investigation team is currently probing these connections.


The 13 individuals arrested by Shastri Nagar police in Patna include Ayush Raj of Danapur, Bittu of Rohtas, Akhilesh Kumar of Danapur, Sikandar Yadavendu of Samastipur, Ashutosh Kumar of Nepalinagar, Patna, Roshan Kumar of Ekangarsarai, Patna, Nitish Kumar of Gaya, Anurag Yadav of Samastipur, Abhishek Kumar of Ranchi, Shivnandan Kumar of Barachatti in Gaya, Avdesh Kumar of Ranchi, Amit Anand of Patna, and Rani Kumari of Samastipur. Additionally, accused individuals have been apprehended by police in other districts as well.

The author is journalist based in Patna 

Leave a Reply