You are currently viewing Bihar State Kabaddi Association Announces Inaugural Bihar Kabaddi League for Men

Bihar State Kabaddi Association Announces Inaugural Bihar Kabaddi League for Men

Patna, June 17: A significant development has emerged from the Kabaddi world in Bihar. The youth team of the Bihar State Kabaddi Association has initiated the implementation of plans devised by the association’s former team, which now serves as its guide. In line with these plans, the youth team has decided to organize the Bihar Kabaddi League for Men. Kumar Vijay Singh has been appointed as the Chairman of the organizing committee, and he will oversee the formation of other committees under his leadership.

Organizing Chairman Kumar Vijay Singh announced that this league will be modeled after the Pro Kabaddi League, with matches played at six venues. All teams will play matches at every venue, meaning franchise teams will have both home and away games.

Six teams will participate in this Kabaddi League, formed based on selection trials scheduled for June 23 and 30 at six different venues.

For team selection on June 23, trials will be held at Dev Kabaddi Academy (Nathupur, Fatuha) on the Patna-Bakhtiyarpur four-lane road near Patna, Janaki Stadium in Sitamarhi, and Silav in Nalanda district. Subhash Kumar will be in charge at Dev Kabaddi Academy, Pankaj Kumar Singh at Janaki Stadium, and Rana Ranjit Singh at Silav.

The second selection trial will be held on June 30 at Khel Bhawan in Gaya, BP Mandal Stadium in Madhepura, and Bihat in Begusarai. Anand Shankar Tiwari will be in charge at Gaya, Arun Kumar at Madhepura, and Shyamnandan Singh at Bihat.

Selection trials for players from Bihar’s 38 districts will be conducted by dividing them into six zones, with a district-wise list being prepared for each zone.

Male players aged between 17 and 22 years, with birth dates between January 1, 2002, and January 1, 2007, are eligible to participate in this Kabaddi League.

The Bihar State Kabaddi Association aims to hold matches under floodlights in both outdoor and indoor halls, creating an atmosphere similar to the Pro Kabaddi League. Efforts are underway to secure sponsors for the event.

The association will form teams, after which franchisees will be sought, and teams can be named accordingly. Arjuna Awardee Randhir Singh, former coach of the Indian men’s team and current coach of Pro Kabaddi League franchise Bengaluru Bulls, will serve as the commissioner of this league.


Leave a Reply